Getting Field Experience

Pony

Hey guys. I recently switched career goals from medicine to Ecology and Evolutionary Biology PhD, which means I have very little to no relevant experience and need to make up for it. I've been appying to internships and jobs and anything that I can find, mostly related to primates because that's what I'm into currently and I want to see if that's what I'd like to do.

Most things require previous experience, so my current tentative plan is to do one or two volunteer/field class experiences, which generally last a few weeks and seem to be more of a just sign-up-and-your-in type thing. I'm currently looking at a research assistantship in Peru and a volunteer experience in South Africa. The problem there is obviously that I'll run out of money really fast, since these are either unpaid or actually require a fee, and I have to cover travel costs. I'd be totally okay with spending the money on this if it means finding the thing that I want to do and preparing myself for grad school, as long as I can get something paid afterwards. Basically as long as I have enough money to not die over the next year I'm fine with that. And I figure even if my experience afterwards isn't directly related to what I want to do, like if it's in a lab, having 4-8 weeks field experience from volunteer work/classes plus a year's worth of semi-related research probably isn't a terrible situation to be in when applying to EEB programs?

I feel like I'm kinda rambling, but does this sound like a decent plan or does anyone else have a better one? Has anyone been in a similar situation with needing to get experience, or does anyone have suggestions for where to find entry field experiences? Any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated.