Looking for an evaluation for second time trying for MS

owl13

Hi everyone,

I finished my BS in geology last year and tried to go to grad school but unfortunately didnt get in anywhere. Luckily I got a job and have been working but its become clear that I need an MS in order to advance, so Ive decided to apply again.  Since my last experience with grad applications, my confidence has been severely shaken so Im looking for a little input and advice. 

I have a few questions but I will give you my profile first:

Undergrad Institution: Large east coast university (you can probably guess from my name lol)

Major(s): I majored in Geology as well as Environmental Studies
Minor(s): -
GPA in Major: 3.7
Overall GPA: 3.2
Position in Class: Departmentally I was near top, however entire class wise idk
Type of Student: American female

GRE Scores (revised/old version):
Q: 
V:
W: 4.5

My scores were sent to my college email address which has since been deleted because I graduated (school does this automatically unless you buy it).  I didnt think I would try again for grad school so it didnt occur to me to change my gre email address before that happened.  So Im not too sure how to recover that.  However I know I was somewhere around the 70th percentile for the verbal and quantitative.  I do remember my written score. 

Research Experience:

I did a study on induced seismicity with my professor over the course of a semester.  No publication came from it then but I am currently finishing it on my own time and hoping to get a poster out at regional gsa next spring. 

Awards/Honors/Recognitions:

Deans List for several semesters, graduated with distinction in both majors. 

Pertinent Activities or Jobs:

In school:

tutored beginner geology courses

Out of school:

Currently mudlogging the Utica/Marcellus (9 months experience so far)

Taking short courses at conferences (On basin analysis, stratigraphy, etc)

Finishing my research project on my own time (with same professor)