Waitlist Question

Hi

I am a student who just graduated from undergrad and applied to several international relations related programs.

I got into several programs, but was waitlisted into my top choice (SAIS).

I was wondering if it is OK to send one of the schools that I got into deposit (since waitlist is not a guarantee) and if SAIS happen to accept me later, then enroll at SAIS.

Are there any restrictions in doing so? Does paying deposit mean that I absolutely have to enroll at that particular institution?

Hi

I am a student who just graduated from undergrad and applied to several international relations related programs.

I was wondering if it is OK to send one of the schools that I got into deposit (since waitlist is not a guarantee) and if SAIS happen to accept me later, then enroll at SAIS.

Are there any restrictions in doing so? Does paying deposit mean that I absolutely have to enroll at that particular institution?

Paying a deposit does not necessarily mean you have to enroll in that particular school, its just meant to guarantee you a spot for the fall semester. Now if you end up getting into SAIS, your deposit for the other school is gone since it is non-refundable. You will have pay another deposit to SAIS. 

Hi

I was accepted at SAIS and will almost certainly be declining, so hopefully you'll get my spot.

Don´t you think accepting and paying the deposit is not to fair with other waitlist candidates for your second option program?

Is there a definitive date to compromise with your definitive option?