Do most sociology phd programs have a foreign language requirement?

rcbx0210

Do sociology phd programs usually have a foreign language requirement? My college "strongly recommends" foreign language courses to students who are majoring in sociology and are considering graduate school. I haven't really seen much mention of this when I've looked online at different graduate programs, though. I'm not sure if I'm not looking in the right places or if a lot of places don't actually have a language requirement.

As an undergraduate, I have to minor in something. Basically, if the foreign language requirement is quite common, I'd probably want to minor in a language. If it's not necessary, however, I'd much prefer to minor in something that's more interesting to me.

All but one of the schools I applied to have a foreign language requirement, but I've heard it's quite easy to pass their profenciency test with very minimal studying. The test is usually translating 1-2 texts with full use of a dictionary. So you don't necessarily need to know how to speak, listen, or write; you just have to be able to read for comprehension. There's a bunch of different books called "X Language for Reading" (e.g. French for Reading) that help you with this type of comprehension. Many folks say you only need to study for 1-2 months to be able to pass.