Letters of Rec Advice Needed

KieBelle

I'm planning on applying to grad school for next fall and I need 2-3 letters of recommendation (depending on the school). But I have a few problems. First, I graduated almost 5 years ago so my professors prob don't remember much about me anymore. Second, I've already almost applied twice previously and my strongest recommender has already written me letters before that I did nothing with (I actually still have 7 signed and sealed letters from him, but they're dated 2 years ago). I really really don't want to have to ask him AGAIN. I'm afraid he'll be annoyed that I've wasted so much of his time already. Another professor wrote me one letter of rec a few years back and when I asked him a second time he said he'd write one and then I never heard from him again. I don't want to let letters of recommendation stand in the way of me going to grad school.

What should I do?? :?

I'm planning on applying to grad school for next fall and I need 2-3 letters of recommendation (depending on the school). But I have a few problems. First, I graduated almost 5 years ago so my professors prob don't remember much about me anymore.

Are you in town? You can always drop by their office hours and have a chat. It refreshes their memory, and lets you talk about your grad school plans and potentially get some useful advice. If you're not in town, try sending a slightly longer e-mail telling them what you've been doing since graduation and why you want to do grad school, or attach a CV of what you've been up to.

Second, I've already almost applied twice previously and my strongest recommender has already written me letters before that I did nothing with (I actually still have 7 signed and sealed letters from him, but they're dated 2 years ago). I really really don't want to have to ask him AGAIN. I'm afraid he'll be annoyed that I've wasted so much of his time already.