Fall 2016 Application Advice!

Dx44

Hello everyone!

I am working hard to get into an MSW program for Fall of 2016 and need some advice about the weight of our GRE scores in the application process! I recently took the GRE (after graduating May of 2014, have not taken a math class in 5 years!) and received the following scores:

Analytical: 4.0

Verbal: 152

Quantitative: 145

I know these numbers are not great, so I was wondering if it would be a smart decision to take the GRE again. My concerns of course are the cost and time it takes to study. While I am not the strongest studier, I would attempt to study harder than I did the first time around(which was close to none).

My other consideration is whether or not these scores will really weigh heavily since I graduated with an overall GPA of 3.3 and currently work in human services in multiple capacities (I have an internship with the American Red Cross in Client Casework, I work with children with autism with the school district as well as do in-home therapy, I am volunteer counseling intake provider, and a volunteer domestic violence victim advocate).

If the GRE score I have will bring me down a few notches in the application process then I want to take it again (and actually study hopefully), but if my experience outweighs the score, I'd rather not go through the pain in my wallet again.

I am looking to apply to UNC Chapel Hill, UNC Charlotte, NCSU, SDSU, CSULB, CSUF, and Boston University (online).

Any advice helps, thank you all!

Yes UNC Chapel Hill and Charlotte as well as SDSU require the GRE. Along with CSUF and CSULB, NCSU and Boston U do not.