Plan B, C, D....

Has anyone developed a plan B if you don't get an acceptance for Fall 2015? If I don't get an acceptance, I haven't yet decided if I'll go another round of applications...

I have a bachelor's degree in human resource management and worked as a business manager for almost 3 years before taking CDS prereqs and applying for SLP grad programs to begin Fall 2015. 

I'm looking for ideas of other options...

I'll definitely be applying again if I am rejected off of waitlists. If I don't get one of the Research Assistant positions I applied for, I plan on spending the next year doing lots of volunteering in different types of clinics, as well as becoming an adult literacy tutor. I also plan on being more involved in organizations that aren't necessarily related to SLP, but that I have a huge interest in. Make yourself stand out!

I have not applied yet, but have thought of Plan B's. 

Such include: 

-Observing SPED/reg ed classrooms and applying to a dual SPED/reg teacher credentialing program

-Taking pre-reqs to apply for a Masters in School Counseling, or Admissions Counseling (for a high school/university)

-Going ABA and eventually taking the exam for that 

-Taking ECE units and working as a preschool teacher

-Taking SLPA courses

-Doing Americorps Literacy program for a year

-Teaching English abroad

-Au pairing for a year in another country 

The above is a mixture of "gap year" fillers and total career path changers. Hope such gives some ideas! (: 

What specifically is your area of interest within SLP? I think it's easier to formulate a Plan B that will make you a more attractive reapplicant if you do something related to whatever that area of interest is.

My youngest child has multiple disabilities and I know that there are always plenty of openings in the following jobs. The pay isn't great and not all employers offer benefits but you will get relevant experience:

-special education aide/paraeducator