Chicago Statistics MS vs Harvard Biostatistics MS

Hi,

I am an international student from China, accepted to both program. I planned to pursue my PhD study, either in statistics or biostatistics in the future. I am more familiar with Biostatistics, yet I believed that Statistics also has interesting topics. 

I think that the name recognition is about the same for Harvard and Chicago. So do the statistics program. The Harvard Biostatistics program is 80-credit, thus may contain 16~20 courses, without thesis (2 years). The Chicago Statistics program contains 9 courses plus Master's thesis. (2 years) Two programs have similar class size, maybe Harvard is a bit smaller (Biostatistics always has smaller class size) 

Boston vs Chicago? I do not have any idea. Weather is bad, right?

Could someone please shed some light on my questions? Thanks in advance!

I think that Chicago is arguably the better choice for PhD prep. I could be wrong, but I think that the perception is that statistics programs are slightly more quantitatively rigorous at the masters level--so it could be easier to go from a statistics MS to a biostatistics PhD than a biostatistics MS to a biostatistics PhD. I also think that the thesis factor is important to consider, since it will give you research exposure.

Boston and Chicago have similar climates, except Chicago's cold wind off the Lake make its winters very harsh. In the end, neither cities offer favorable winter climate. I'm biased towards Chicago (as a city, not as a school) since I grew up around there and went to undergrad in the city.