GRE retest, just for future funding?

nananiemand

Hello all!

I was wondering if anyone could provide some advice about whether or not I should consider retesting for a better GRE score. My current score is:    Verb. 160, Quant. 145, Essay 3.5

I wasn't in a great place when I took this test originally, hence the pretty low essay portion (I'm a very confident writer, but evidently a poor instructions reader. I literally did this: I thought the first essay was a "short answer" and only wrote five paragraphs... I also honestly did -not- study for the quant portion, sadly). I was always planning on retesting, but now I've been accepted to a program for the Fall and the issue isn't as pressing. However, I still notice that GRE scores are needed for fellowships (I have an NSF GRF, but my PhD will be in social sciences with a median completion of 8.5 years).

Based on all this, should I be planning to retest? If not this year, than in a few years when I'm getting ready for dissertation grant-writing? How strongly do GRE scores affect various fellowships/grants?

Thanks~~

I can see GRE mattering on judging new admit vs new admit funding, but once you are there for a few years if they are still looking at standardized test scores and not the actual work you've done at the university, with your professors, etc... I don't know about that decision...

I feel bad for the guy who has 30 publications and a nobel prize but can't get funding because he has a 60% quant...

Edited by <ian>

I can see GRE mattering on judging new admit vs new admit funding, but once you are there for a few years if they are still looking at standardized test scores and not the actual work you've done at the university, with your professors, etc... I don't know about that decision...

I feel bad for the guy who has 30 publications and a nobel prize but can't get funding because he has a 60% quant...