Does the extra stuff matter?

HopingForMFA

Hello, all.

So I have a question; and forgive me if this isn't the most appropriate place to post this, I wasn't sure where the most appropriate thread is. 

How much does extracurricular stuff matter? For example, I have been a Resident Assistant for the last four out of my five years of undergrad (and have been recognized in my ResLife department with an award). I have also piloted a service learning thesis project (completely elected, not required by my major) to bring art to the socioeconomically challenged, the project earned me a nomination for a Student Civic Leadership award. 

Will any of this matter to graduate admission boards the way it matters in undergrad? Or will my application rest solely on grades, rec's, and scores?On top of all that, I am graduating with a dual major and a 3.6 GPA. 

Thanks!

I don't think it matters much for a PhD application (and probably not for Masters, either). They are interested in your potential as a researcher, which they gauge through things like grades, LORs, research experience, etc.. It might look good to have something extra on your resume, showing you can balance school and other activities, but I wouldn't emphasize these a lot. Include them in your resume/CV, but don't act like it's a big deal.

In my field, the extra stuff definitely matters.  Students without sufficient work or volunteer experience in my field are typically not accepted into graduate programs.

The extra stuff is also great to have for scholarship purposes!  Extra money is always nice. :)