Advice for applying to Grad School

So, I've been freaking out lately about having to soon apply to grad school. Currently I have a 3.5 GPA and I will be going into my senior year at West Chester University. I'm involved in many organizations on campus, and have a leadership position in one of these groups. I work as a Teacher's Assistant at The Goddard School and also am a group leader at a summer camp for children with developmental disabilities. I'm so scared I won't be accepted into any graduate programs and I am looking for some advice! Thank you!

Your GPA just made the mark for being considered as competitive. If you have at least a 4.5 on GRE writing and combined score of 307 on SAT you will have a chance at Towson University. Maybe waitlisted for your GPA though. Most GPA averages on the East Coast are 3.75. You should check on the individual school websites on this information though. See how many applications they have received over past two years and see if you meet their averages. If you meet them all, then you are a good candidate and should apply. Don't apply to West Chester's SLP program. They have lost their accreditation in the past, which has left students stranded to find another program.

My best advice is to start early and to research programs thoroughly. Find out where your GPA and GRE scores fall in their range of accepted students and be flexible on where you apply if possible. I think part of the reason I did not get accepted the first time around is I really didn't apply to the right schools. I applied to several top-ranked schools and my undergrad, all of which can be tough to get into (in my case). With a boosted resume, higher GRE scores this year, and the right schools, it worked out very well for me this year. 

Also take a look at some other threads that are a little older. Several other people have been looking for help and there's a lot of great advice in some recent threads. Good luck!