Advice? SAIS -- No Funding/Little Experience

john29

Greetings!

I realize this is late to the game, so I'll try to be as brief as I can.  I'm 24 years old, and I've been out of undergrad for a few years (~2.5) with relatively little experience to show for it (and certainly none related to IR).  I did do some additional studying in Italy between graduation and now -- beefing up languages (I speak Italian and Spanish at intermediate levels now) and taking additional economics works -- but otherwise, I don't have any real world experience.  I graduated with honors in Political Science with a 3.76 GPA (though I got I think a 3.91 or something if you only looked at my last two years and/or Major).  For the GRE, I got a 154 on Quant and a 159 on Verbal, both lower than I wanted.  I got a 5.5 for the analytic writing section.  I had strong recommendations, but otherwise I felt my application was decent in some places, lacking in others, and by no means extraordinary.  

I ended up applying to American SIS, GWU Elliot, SAIS, and a few lower ranked schools.  I honestly thought my odds of getting into anywhere we relatively slim, but I somehow ended up accepted into all.  American and GWU weren't a shock to me, but I was a bit surprised at SAIS.  I know none of these schools boasts a 10% acceptance rate or anything, but I still thought my lack of experience would have hurt me.  All that said, I got no funding assistance from any program I applied to (including the much lower ranked schools).

I originally saw myself working within someplace like State (I know, 80% of people probably say that at some point), Defense, CIA, etc or doing work with a think tank, but as I come down to the wire on committing to the program, I find myself with a lot of doubts. This is a decision I personally need to make, but I was curious if anyone on here (I've been reading all the threads for a long time but never posted) has some advice on a few questions that are causing me anxiety: