I'm a foreign chemistry student

straumle

Hi everyone :)

I'm currently studying chemistry at the University of Basel in Switzerland. In more or less two years I'll hopefully get my master's degree and afterwards I want to make a Ph.D.

I would like to do my Ph.D. in the US, as this is highly recommended at our university. But as i don't know how your system works and the internet confuses me, I'm here and I hope you guys can help me a little :)

I hope this is the right place to post these questions.

I already learned the difference between a college and an university. I also understood that it is possible for foreign students to apply at any school I want (which does not mean that I get a place there...)

But I have more questions...

1) In Switzerland, of you want to do your Ph.D., you write an email to the professor and ask him if he has work for you. If he accepts you, you work for him during the entire Ph.D. You also get paid from him and you have nothing to do but work (so no lectures or something like this). 

I heard that in the US, this is different. You have to apply to a program of the school and you can go to different professors?! And do you also get paid?

2) I want to specialize in the field of physical or theoretical chemistry. What, in your opinion, is the best institution to do so?

3) Is it difficult to get into a good program (like on at MIT for example)? Do I have to be like on of the best students at my university to have a chance? Or do they also value your application (so your motivation essay etc.)?

4) There are many test I would have to do before applying, like the GRE and as a foreign student the TOEFL. When do I have to get started with these things, that it is not too late but also not too early (as the GRE test mustn't be taken a long time ago)? Is one year ahead ok?

5) You all post that you are going to visit the campus. For me it is a little bit far away, but do have a chance, do I have to visit the campus?