I have a choppy history (Average 1st u/g, a few fails & an abandoned degree, very good 2 u/g). How to best present myself?

allylewy

Hey Guys :)

So after a lot of tears and realising that no matter what I do or how much I want to, I can't change the past and be that 'perfect' student I wish I was. 

I first went to University right after high school and didn't do so well, my GPA was only a 2.15. I was 18, lazy, depressed and still quite burned out from high school. Also in my third year was involved in a serious car crash and had 3 operations on my leg. Anyway, I graduated, couldn't get a job because recessions and bad grades don't go well together especially when you did an arts degree. I started a second degree about 18mo later, but failed the first semester as my mother passed away after the withdrawal date and I wasn't told until it was too late that I could have made a case to have it scrapped from the record, so sadly, it sits on the transcripts because the University refuses to make an exception. 

Three years after that, I went back to Uni at 26.5 with my shit together am now about to graduate in Politics and Journalism with a German almost-major (did all the language units, just didn't do the electives like 'german literature' to get the major) and have a 3.65GPA with excellent recommendations from my professors.

Stupidly though, I accepted 2 exemptions for intro courses at the new school and now can't hide the old degree. I didn't realise it would show as 'transferred credit'. Can't get it rescinded. I now have to own up to the old degree. I wanted to hide it :(