Digital Humanities?

joylkmus

Hey everyone,

New poster here, and I just wanted some advice.

My back story is that I went to a very good state school in the south and completed a distinguished history major with highest honors, graduating in 2013. My three best friends from the program went on to PhDs and I decided to take a break because while I loved the research I was doing (medieval French history/gender history) the stress almost killed me.

Two years later, I am looking at terminal Masters programs in the Chicagoland area starting Fall 2016 (I don't want to move). I had been doing some digital humanities work with my advisor before I left school (transcribing and marking up manuscripts in XML) and I figure it's something quite useful for a lot of historians and it would be a neat thing to study further. I also had a good time doing it. I've been working at a tech company for the past year so I have had some experience in the field, sort of.

Does anyone have thoughts on if this is a good idea? I'm not married to the digital humanities idea but I would really like to stay in Chicago (I think moving and starting school all at once would not be great for me). Really, it's down to 1) doing an MA to see if I want to go into a PhD program because I actually cannot decide but think about it all the time or 2) doing an MA that would lead to me getting an actual job.

Joy

I'm pretty well versed in DH at this point, but people mean a lot of things when they say "Digital Humanities". Can you describe what you mean by the term more precisely?

I'm pretty well versed in DH at this point, but people mean a lot of things when they say "Digital Humanities". Can you describe what you mean by the term more precisely?

(Not sure if quoting you is the right way to go about this but - )