decision between PhD offer and internship leading to PhD

phdEuro

Hi,

I have a fully funded PhD offer from a University at Netherlands in Computer Science. The professor is very nice and the research topic also matches my main area of interest. The university is a second tier university i.,e ranked around 100 in the world for computer science (though I am not sure how accurate these rankings are). The alumnis of the professor have got in to decent post-doctoral positions. He has recently started a startup and i am worried that his attention may be directed towards that. That is the only negative point.

I have another offer at Ireland for a research internship. The area matches perfectly and it matches even my sub-area. But, only after the internship, PhD offer will be confirmed. The professor is new but is working on latest and interesting research topics. There is a certain amount of risk factor. He also said that PhD offer will be decided only after the internship based on performance and fit. I need to apply again if I don't get PhD seat. I did a research internship previously at a different place and I did not like the area and I did not accept the PhD offer. I had to spend efforts again in applying and I had to explain why I did not join there. Also that professor did not give me a positive feedback when some people asked for reference. 

I think it is straight forward to accept the one at Netherlands. But, the Ireland offer matches my interests more perfectly. I just want to hear what others have to say.

I would accept Netherlands offer.