Double major vs just taking relevant classes (and a few other questions)

m0use

Hi everyone, first post on the grad cafe. I just wanted to ask you nice people for some advice, but first a little background. 

I am currently attending a small state school in Texas. I graduated from high school last spring with a lot of dual credit hours, this has allowed me to complete my first year here with 90 credit hours (equivalent of being a senior). I am currently majoring in geology but have been greatly enjoying the math classes I have taken thus far (Vector Calc, Differential Equations, Linear Algebra). This has lead me to considering getting a double major in mathematics and geology, rather than just taking "useful" classes as I was originally planning. The math program at my school is mostly focused on applications, however getting a math degree would require me to take a few classes that may not be useful for me as a potential future geoscientist. These classes are: Foundations to Higher Math (intro to proofs), Introduction to Analysis (sometimes called advanced calculus), and Abstract Algebra. I will also have to take a couple of extra basic computer science courses, but I can see how these may come in handy.The other option I have is to just focus on my geology degree and take extra math classes that may be useful, including: Applied Statistics, Partial Differential Equations, and an Applied Modeling class (I may have to ask the person in charge if I will be able to take this, as it says "capstone" course on the catalog). Getting the math degree would entail the completion of both the "useful" and "useless" math classes. I am already kind of on the path to do the double major as I am taking Discrete 1 & Applied Stats over the summer, and am signed up for the Foundations to Higher Math and am doing a directed independent study in Differential Geometry next fall.