Taking a year long break before PhD??

monanana

Hello,

I am an international student with US BS in Microbio and want to pirsue a PhD here. I was wondering how much worse my chances are if I wait a year vs. applying right after undergrad, if at all?

Thanks

In general, I don't think the year makes a difference. A lot of people, including myself, choose to take a year off before going through the rigours of graduate applications. That being said, consider what you will be doing for that year. Will you be involved in work that will improve or help your application (research, volunteer in labs, etc)? Alternatively, will you be finding a job to fund your graduate studies? 

In my opinion, taking a year off can benefit you tremendously if you are using it wisely to decide on what to pursue or using it to improve your application. However, it is still a long duration and you may run the risk of not having the motivation to pursue grad school. That's something to keep in mind.

As for being an international student, I'm not sure if that makes a difference or not. Each year there's a limit to how many international students can be accepted depending on the institution, so you may want to look into that.

Yupp I plan on relaxing a bit and volunteering as much as possible. I doubt I will be able to find an OPT job as so many Med School fails have high GPAs and what not so I don't think I can compete :( But hopefully doing some meaningful things! Thank you!

I took four years off. But I worked during those four years. My career aspirations changed and I took the time off to figure out what I wanted to do. But I also used those four years to gain work experience and learn new things, like programming. Taking a year off shouldn't impact your chances, but you should still use your time wisely.

As others have said, use the time wisely. The time off can actually make your application.