Applying to MS Engineering with Finance Background

bchemeng

Hello All,

I am planning to apply for a MS in Chemical Engineering and I just came back from yet another disappointing GRE test. In my first attempt I scored a 157Q/161V/4.5W. During my second attempt, I scored even worse.  I do not plan to retake the GRE yet again.

A little about myself:
I am a Hispanic-American female with a B.A. in business administration from a top 100 university. I have a 3.3 GPA (a little higher for my major, maybe a 3.5) and I worked full-time while attending college full-time. I currently work in finance for a company in the engineering industry. I received As in calculus, statistics, chemistry, and astrophysics during college, and have worked with statistical software, so I know that I am not completely stupid when it comes to math. However, I feel that because my prior degree is not in STEM and my Q GRE score is not that great, that I will not be admitted to any chemical engineering programs.

Will any programs even consider me with these scores and my background? At this point, I am wondering if I should even apply at all.  Or if I should just apply for a second Bachelors.  I was hoping that if I am admitted that I will be given the opportunity to take leap courses for a year before starting grad classes.

Please let me know what your thoughts and suggestions are on how I should proceed.

• 4 weeks later...