University of Washington

Hello everyone! 

So coming up in the Fall, I'll begin sending out grad apps and my dream school would be University of Washington, specifically for their MedSLP program. I know that UW is in like the top 5 schools for speech path and is therefore really competitive. Those of you who have been accepted to their program (regardless of whether or not you accepted their offer), what qualifications did you guys have? 

I'm currently studying for the GRE in August. Other than that, criteria that I have so far: 

CSD/Major GPA: 3.89 

Cumulative GPA: 3.54

And some of the volunteer experience that I'll have on my resume include being a live in camp counselor for a summer camp with kids & adults with disabilities, a current NSSLHA officer, and I will be starting an student internship at the UC Davis med center in the fall. I also will begin training in the fall to be a shelter advocate for Asian/Pacific Islander women & children. 

Is this enough? I'm worried that I won't be competitive enough to be considered and I'm stressing out a lil'. Any insight and advice would be so appreciated! 

I will be in the Med SLP program starting Fall 2015! I'm really excited!! My overall GPA: 3.88, CSD GPA: 4.0, GRE Verbal: 162, GRE Math: 150, Writing: 4.5. I've worked in 2 research labs on campus for 1-1.5 years and have done 2 years of volunteering in the field. I also worked at a summer camp for children with mental and physical disabilities for 7 summers. My advice is to have 3-4 strong recommendation letters and have a really great personal statement. I would start brainstorming/drafting a personal statement now and have your teachers and anyone you know in the field edit it. I would also recommend setting up an interview at UW if you can! Good luck!!!

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! I got into University of Washington for their MedSLP program!