Prospective PhD student needs advice on current choices

Bargheist

Hi everyone,

I apologise in advance for what will probably be a very long post. But the truth is that I am going through quite a crisis right know, and would hugely benefit from the experience of more seasoned people. I am looking for advice and personal experience from current or former PhD science students from top-tier US universities (MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Princeton, Chicago, and so on) to help me out of a conundrum. My current situation is as follows:

I am a European Chemistry student currently finishing a Master's degree in an upper-second tier university in the UK (meaning: not Oxbridge, but close). As scientific research is basically my whole life (that actually sounded less sad in my head), I was planning to do a PhD here in the UK, and had managed to secure a position in an amazing group, plus a backup plan in case shit hit the fan.

Well, guess what: it did.

Long story short: we recently realised that I was not eligible for my PhD funding anymore, as one of the conditions was that the applicant cannot have spent more than 12 months in the UK before the start of the PhD - which I did, as I moved to the UK a few months before the beginning of my course to practice my English. Preparation always pays off, my ass.

So, yeah. It's almost June, and I just lost my dream PhD to some stupid technicality. I am, obviously, bereft beyond description. All I am left with now is a meh PhD in a 2nd-rate university which, while decent, isn't anywhere near what I was hoping for. With the worst part in that being that it is way past time to apply to another PhD starting Fall 2015, as pretty much all universities have their application deadline in January.