New Student- Advisor never responds

So I'm starting at the University of Waterloo in the fall. My advisor is a very busy man on sabbatical and has been since I applied and will be until December. Now shortly after applying and getting my acceptance his email response time was slow but I still got a response. I'd have to say since March or so I've sent 6 emails with no response. The one time he did respond in that time period I was coming up to look for housing and asked if he'd be free to meet, he said he'd check his calendar when he was in the office but I got no response after that. 

I just don't know what to do, the secretary has been helping me out with the logistical questions but I've been trying to ask him about the projects he has (he said I have my pick or them but I'd like more info on a couple before I decide) to no avail. I just don't know what to do. I'm an international student so calling would be difficult but not impossible, another new hiccup is that it's now summer break so I'm sure he's even more impossible to reach.

This might not be a big deal and could be normal but it's causing me a lot of stress and I'm just worried about this whole situation and what it means for the couple of years ahead, though to be honest I'd rather have a non responsive advisor than one who won't talk to me because I have an irrational fear  that he hates me. 

Help?

Hey,