Choosing where to apply - help!

violet09

Hi all,

I am a rising senior, and I want to apply to grad school this fall.

I want to go to grad school because I like what I'm studying now (earth sciences), but actually I don't really have a good idea of what specific topic I want to work on in my MS/PhD. I did work in labs before, and while I like what I did there, I am not really sure if that's what I want to continue doing - I mean, there could be so many different topics/fields out there...

Since I can't identify a specific topic that I want to study, I can't really look out for specific mentors and now I am not sure how to find a school that truly fits me... Should I just apply to schools that have good earth sciences programs? Any advice?

Edited by violet09

You could talk with some of the professors at your uni from earth sciences who could probably shed you some light into how the field is, and explain to you its various directions. Also do some research on your own in the summer months, looking out for currently popular research areas. Go through the websites of the top earth sciences programs (top 20-25) and take note of which areas are stronger in each. In addition, start prepping for the GRE.

After you've gotten an idea of which direction you want to go (through your research and advice from professors), choose universities that fit you in terms of your research interest and GPA and start getting everything for the application ready.

If you want to go into a PhD program (or MS/PhD i.e. MS leading to PhD), you're going have to show enough research experience. Talk with a professor into getting a research assistantship and try to get something published in your senior year.

Good luck!

If you can't identify a specific topic, then you need to take some time off before going to graduate school. Seriously. If you insist on going to grad school, then do a master's program, not a MS/PhD program.