"Cracking the GRE" Error?

ChiefAdube

Hello all,

I am studying for the GRE, which I am taking at the end of the month.

Right now I'm working through the Princeton Review 'Cracking the GRE' book and I've run into what I think is an egregious error in the answer key for the 'Real World Math Drill', but maybe I am missing something obvious;

Question;

"5x – 2y = 2y – 3x
Quantity A       Quantity B
     x                        y
    A.Quantity A is greater.
    B.Quantity B is greater.”
    C.The two quantities are equal.
    D.The relationship cannot be determined from the information given.”

Answer;
“  5. D
Variables in the question stem means to plug in. For this problem, it’s easier to plug in if you simplify the equation first. Rearrange the equation to put the variables on opposite sides of the equal sign. 8x = 4y. Then divide both sides by 4 to get that 2x = y. Now, choose some easy numbers such as x = 2 and y = 4. In this case, Quantity B is greater, so eliminate answers (A) and ©. Next, try something like x = 0 and y = 0. In this case, the two quantities are equal. Eliminate choice (B) and the correct answer is (D).”

Excerpt From: Princeton Review. “Cracking the GRE Premium Edition with 6 Practice Tests, 2015 (Graduate School Test Preparation).”

This does not seem right at all... after rereading the answer key I am 99.9% sure that it is wrong (for example, if you plug in x=2 and y=4 as the answer suggests, the terms in 2x=y are equal. Also, I'm not sure why they think they can just plug zeros in for x and y). Also I have no idea what the first sentence in their paragraph is supposed to mean.

Can someone either confirm that this is a mistake or try to point out what I'm missing.