Where did I go Wrong?

kantrohit

Hi,

Just a quick Question to throw it out there to gauge where I went wrong and fell behind in my applications.

I have a Bachelors Degree in Instrumentation & Control Engineering from NSIT, Top15 Engineering college in India.

My Bachelors Marks Score is 53.8%

GRE: 307 (150 Verbal; 157 Quant )

Toefl: 99

In addition I have 2 years of work experience as a Software Developer in Software Development Firm

I intended to apply for the MS program in Computer Science.

I applied to 8 universities: NYU PolyTechnic, Northeastern, UIC, NJIT, San Jose State, Texas-Arlington, Texas-Dallas and Rochester.

I have been rejected from all these colleges and I was utterly disappointed. I need to know where I am falling short in my applications.

I look forward to applying again for the Fall of 2016.

1. Would a graduate diploma course help in my applications and better my chances of being accepted?

2. Are my choice of Universities too ambitious?

I understand that my academic scores in bachelors are not that great but would like to pursue my interests in the field of CS.

Any help in guidance and gauging the shortcoming would be welcome.

Edited by kantrohit

Your GRE's are way too low. Some universities discard applications that do not pass the cutoff, and a 157 is fairly low for any engineering program. The verbal score is also very low, but I do not know how they weigh it.

Given the fact that many Indians have English education, the TOEFL is also low. However, this is not decisive, just an observation. If you improve your GRE verbal scores, your TOEFL will go up too. 

I'm not familiar with the Indian grade system, but I do know that percentages are generally lower than in North America. How does 53.8% compare? That is, do you know what percentile this grade average is?

I agree with the above that your GRE and TOEFL scores are weak.