Outsider wanting to enter into an MPP/MPA program

sp108

I am currently working in the private sector (big 4 accounting firm) and I want to attend grad school in 2016 in MPP/MPA.  My career goals are to work in either the private or public sector on finance and economic policy issues, emerging markets, etc.  I am fairly new to this field so any guidance would be really appreciated.

A few questions; 

1) Coming in to government affairs as an outsider, are there any specific kind of extracurricular activities I should focus on? Volunteering, etc? Or any classes I should take to prep me for the program? I really want out of my current job as a Big 4 auditor and I want to get my feet wet in the policy world.  Any internships, research positions that I can look into getting that might be fitting for me with my background?

2) I am worried about my age.  I am 25 (3 years of work experience total) currently.  I will be 26 when I apply in the fall and 27 if I start in fall of 2016.  Is this common?

Thank you

Edited by sp108

Speaking as a fellow 2016 applicant, I only feel comfortable answering your second question.

Your age is totally fine and actually falls within the range of most students attending MPP/MPA programs. For example, Duke Sanford claims its age range is 24-32, and Cornell CIPA's average age is 26.

I was in a position similar to yours coming off of 3 years working in derivatives at an investment bank. 

I was pretty short on extracurricular involvement that screamed "I want to go into policy", save for my undergraduate studies.  My biggest strength came from a strong personal statement that told a compelling narrative of why an MPP was the next step in my career.  I'd focus on working hard to make sure your application aligns the triumvirate of work experience, career interest and degree program.

• 2 months later...

Hello again sp108,