Is there a different standard between domestic & international applicants for admission?

coollyboy

I'm an international student and recently consulted one of the professors about

which graduate school will I be able to apply with present status(gpa, gre, toelf etc.).

I have e-mailed to graduate schools(ranked about 30~50) to get the information about the average scores of successful applicants

and confirmed that my status is just around average(disregard of sop etc.).

However, the professor said that the average scores I received are related to mainly on domestic applicants

and scores of international applicants can be somewhat higher in gre(except in writing), gpa.

I was depressed when he said that I wouldn't be able to receive admission offer from "University of xxx" level of school.

Is the admission standard different from domestic to international applicants?

Yes, the standards and expectations are quite different.

From my limited knowledge: