Fall 2016 Applicants

sierra918

Hello all! Some of you may think it's a litte too early to start this discussion, but I thought those of us who have already started preparing could start sharing our journeys and supporting one another! 

I am applying to a handful of programs for Fall 2016, and I'll also be applying to the NSF GRFP. I earned my M.A. in 2009, so I'll be applying under the "extenuating circumstances" qualification. I am an Archaeologist, and I've been working in CRM for five years now. I've been out of school for nearly 7 years now, so I'm a little nervous (but also very excited) to get back into academica.

I've already contacted POI's at each of the programs I plan to apply to, and I've written a draft of the statement of purpose for my first choice program. I've also drafted an NSF GRFP proposal based on last year's guidelines, but I may need to revise it once this year's guidelines are available.

Has anyone else gotten started? If so, please share!!

• 2 weeks later...

Hey! I applied for Fall 2015 and will be starting grad school in a couple months. I figure I could comment with what I learned during the application process. I had a list of about 20 school that I decided I would research. I narrowed it down to 3 programs, 1 PhD and 2 Masters. I was accepted into one masters. What helped in my decisions of which schools to apply for was if I wanted to live where that school was, could the program help me achieve my career goals, was it a quality program, how much did it cost, and finally if I was accepted would I want to go there?

3 school did limit my chances a lot. Around mid April I had 2 rejections and was trying to come up with a backup plan while I waited for the 3rd. I was fortunate enough a week later to get in however many of my friends weren't. I would advise having backup plans and understanding that not getting in isn't the end of the world. Although you seem really prepared and I'm sure you will get in.