Should I get international experience or take extra classes?

sp108

Following up on another thread I saw - I want to apply for MPP/MPA programs to get into private-sector consulting with a finance/econ policy focus.  I have 3 years of private sector work experience by the time I apply.  

When it comes to policy work or work done internationally....I do not have any of that.  Should I actually look to get international experience such as teaching, volunteering, etc?  I know it wouldn't hurt but since I do have real world experience, would it be important?

Should I take extra classes to boost my quantitative skills?  I double majored in Finance/Accounting and took a Business Calc. course, two stats courses, and a few econ courses. I took an intermediate micro-econ course and made a C+ which worries me..  Should I look to take additional econ/math courses?

I am taking the GREs in August and I also work full time.

Edited by sp108

I know that you said you intend to go for finance/econ policy focus, but do you plan to get into the international arena with that focus in terms of your career aims? International experience does help, yet I was someone who got accepted into program without it. I'm specializing in the Middle East, and have not even gone to the region (at the moment).

In my opinion, if I could pick the 4 most important factors for admissions it would be these (no specific order):

1. GPA/Coursework

2. Statement of Purpose

3. GREs

4. Work experience in your field (relevant internships included)