Interest Accruing Mechanism for Federal Loans

NewDex

Hi everyone,

It's my first time taking federal loans. This question may be stupid or may have been asked before, but here you go: I'm going to a school whose academic calendar goes in quarters; therefore, the total amount of money that I am borrowing from the federal government will be paid out to me in three installments over the course of the next year, and not a single one before the year even starts. It is my goal to pay interest off as it accrues at the end of every month, so it doesn't capitalize. I've been wondering: Does interest accrue over the entire amount you were approved for right off the bet or does it accrue only over amounts already disbursed to you at the points where it is calculated (at the end of every month)?

In my mind, it does not make sense that interest always accrues over the entire amount I was approved for, since only 1/3 of it will have been disbursed before the first quarter starts, for example. In this example, shouldn't it accrue over only 1/3 of the entire amount for the first three months? Since I am unfamiliar with the rules of federal loans, though, I thought about asking.

Just in case that information is relevant, the loans I am planning on taking are the Unsubsidized Stafford and Graduate PLUS ones.

Thanks a lot for any help! :D

It accrues over what's been dispersed and it accrues daily

More information available here: https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/types/loans/interest-rates

How is interest calculated?
The amount of interest that accrues (accumulates) on your loan from month to month is determined by a simple daily interest formula. This formula consists of multiplying your loan balance by the number of days since the last payment times the interest rate factor.

Simple daily interest formula:

Outstanding principal balance
x number of days since last payment
x interest rate factor
= interest amount