on a lack of research experience and who I would like to work with

1. I have a background in liberal arts and will be applying to other liberal arts programs (cultural studies, rhetoric/communications, gender & sexuality studies) BUT I have no research experience. Will this hurt my chances of getting accepted? Do I mention in my PS/SOP why I don't have research experience or is this of no consequence to the types of programs I am entering?

2. What if, in some cases, I am interested in working with faculty who are not core in the department I am applying to but rather affiliated with that department and core in another (which I am not really qualified for or experienced with)?

What do you mean by "research"? Have you ever written a paper with an original(ish) argument based on some set of primary and secondary sources? Or have you just done assignment-type essays, responding to prompts like "please compare Text A and Text B and how they relate to the themes of this course"?

You definitely do not want to spend your SOP talking about why you don't have research experience. You want to focus on the research you want to do as a graduate student and the skills you are bringing to the table to do that research. If you've done a research paper, interviewed people, conducted an analysis, etc., then you do have research experience. Good luck!

Mention people in the department and definitely people outside but connected to the department who you're interested in working with. It shows you've done your research on how you fit with the program and the university.