MSW Applications for Spring 2016 Hunter/Silberman!

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to start this thread to see who else is applying for Hunter's MSW. At this point, I think the Fall 2015 decisions have been finalized (correct me if I'm wrong), so I thought a thread on Spring 2016 would be appropriate. I personally am applying for their Accelerated 18 month program. Is anyone else applying?

I would love to hear your progress in the application. I'm hoping this can be a place where we can throw out any questions or advice we might have!

• 1 month later...

Hey Dreamwithguts, Do you know whether our recommendation have to be in by the 1st of October or the 1st of November? I'm hoping to get my recs in order, but the application site doesn't note what they mean by "supplemental materials."

-Thumb

Sorry for the late responses! I've been waiting for so long I didn't think anyone would respond to my post lol. 

To lakeoffire800

I have a bachelors and my first job in a social service agency. I would definitely agree with your parents in the sense that it's difficult to earn a lot especially when you start out. But, in my opinion, you can definitely earn more (as in 70,000+) if you get the experience and know how to navigate career-wise. I had a therapist who was an LCSW. She saw people twice a day in the week, about $110 per hour. I'm assuming that would be about a total of 14 hours a day, and about $80,080 a year.. IMO that's not a bad salary. 

To thumbrella

You're right! I looked too and they don't seem to specify.. I would email omitchel@hunter.cuny.edu . She's the contact person and should know! 

Have you been able to attend any of the info sessions yet? If so I was wondering what you thought of it.

DWG,

Thanks for the input. I actually went in-person, and it turns out that the recs are in the supplemental materials. *phew*