Please grade my issue and argument essays?

andreafranco

Hi! This is my first attempt at both the issue and argument essays. Please grade and give me feedback on what I can do to improve. I timed myself to make sure I did them in 30 minutes. I know the issue essay is a mess, I had a difficult time picking a side--that's probably evident in the essay. Please let me know what I can do to improve, I know there's a lot...

Issue:

The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A strong and independent person should not be based on the luxuries and conveniences that are immediately available to them. These people are molded by their experiences and the way in which they are brought up. In psychology, a long running argument that exists is the idea of nurture versus nature—whether a person’s being is based on the way they were brought up (from their experiences as a child), nurture, or it is innate and based on our genetics, nature. There are a variety of studies that support either argument and most people just prefer to agree that it is a 50-50 balance. If so, then a strong and independent person does not come about because of the luxuries that they have in their life but it is because of their character and the way in which they were brought up.