GRE scores too low for Clinical Psychology?

lwalker2009

I just took my GRE for the second time yesterday. I have spent HUNDREDS of dollars and hours studying with Magoosh and Kaplan, and I still don't have the score I was looking for. As we all know, programs always list the avg stats of their students, and all of my potential programs have 160 Q 160 V and higher...I got a 150 Q 159 V. I just cannot break 160 to save my life. I don't have the morale or more importantly the money to take this test again. Do you think my low scores will keep me out of the programs? Do many programs really throw out applications based on GRE scores alone?

I have a 3.69 cumulative GPA and at least a 3.85 in my major (psychology). I have 2 years of work experience out of college as a mental health professional, health interviewer, and research assistant. Some significant lab experience in college and I've presented posters at 2 conferences. No publications and no awards.

You can beat a 150Q. Study harder and you'll get there. If it means having to put in another 100 hours of work, then do it. Clinical psychology is the toughest kind of psychology program to get into. When the programs ask for 160Q/160V, they mean 160Q/160V. Your application will get tossed out. A 150Q is not that tough. After about a week of studying, I went from a 150Q to a 155Q. A 159V is good, but you can raise the Q score. Those clinical psychology programs have hundreds of applicants, many with similar stats as yours. You should apply for like 10 programs after you raise your Q score further. 

Anyways - that's just my opinion. 

Edited by westy3789