International Student: Comparative Research Experience

hippyscientist

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to do my PhD in the US in Kinesiology. I've identified the schools I want to apply to, where research interests fit mine and where I think I'd be good to live for 5 years! 

I'm an international student, I've done my BSc and MSc in the UK. As such, we have different research opportunities available to us. I know of maybe 1 student who got a research paper published at undergrad and that's because he took a year out to work with a NGB. I was just curious as I have conducted an independent research project (designed the project, did the data collection, wrote it up as a journal article but because of our university policy not able to submit it to a journal), will have done more research as part of my MSc and I've been working on a national study for the summer as a research assistant directly related to what I want to do my PhD in. I've also had extensive practical experience & journal writing experience from classes. Is this comparable to the kinda research experience US students would get?

I'm also applying shortly after I've started my MSc, I'll have finished by the time I start, but I wondered how that will come across on applications?

Thanks in advance for any advice/comments.

The assumption that American undergrads publish papers is a stretch, to say the least.  Even though it is happening at a higher frequency these days those undergrads that do manage to publish are still low enough in number for it to still be considered a rarity.  

If I were in a similar situation I would mention in my SOP that I did not only design and carry out my own project but that I also wrote a journal article as well; then mention that it is against university policy for undergrads to submit and would supply a copy of the paper upon request.  If the application requires a writing sample, I would use this paper for that.