Microbiology PhD ... what are my chances?

caringrobot

I feel like a lot of people ask this but I need advice and help so bare with me!

I went to a top 4 undergraduate college and graduated with an overall GPA of 3.0 and major GPAs of 3.2 in biology and 3.1 in geophysical science. I have 2 years of research experience in microbial biogeochemistry during my time in undergraduate (one of these years was purely independent research). Unfortunately, no publications.

I am taking the next 1-2 years off to work as a lab tech to get more experience (hoping it will offset my low GPA a bit). Also, to obtain a great 3rd recommendation. I'm also considering getting a tech job at one of my top choice schools in hopes that I could get to know the professors better and maybe get an "in" by finding a potential adviser.

My GRE scores are Q: 170 V:163 W:4

Do I have any chance of getting into a good microbiology/biology phd program? Should I aim for a masters instead?

My top choices are UCSD/Scripps, USC, and Berkley. Do I have any chance here?

Also, what schools would you all recommend that I could count as "target" schools for me? I'm trying to figure out where I stand in terms of graduate school rankings...

Edited by caringrobot

I think you've got a pretty strong application there.  But it's really impossible to tell.  There are a lot of politics and chance that feed into how many people get accepted into a program.  The thing that will most likely get you into a program is your letter of recommendation.  They must be glowing, and written by someone who knows how to write a glowing letter.  Sometimes PIs are not terribly good at this.  

GREs are okay for not getting your application thrown out immediately, and you should go by percentile, not raw score.  I was accepted into a PhD program with no where near the cachet of UCSD/Cal etc a V:90th M:95th W: 95th percentiles but was not backed with nearly as nice of a research background as you do.