HKS MPA/ID Fall 2017: Strategic advice needed

Jordan1st

Hi all,

I need your strategic advice on long-term application preparation for the HKS MPA/ID program. I am planning to apply for the Fall 2017 round.

I would like to briefly share my background to gain your insight on what works best. I am a Jordanian citizen working with USAID in Jordan's flagship economic development program since January 2015. Before that, I worked as an external auditor for Ernst & Young - Jordan for 2 years. I graduated from American University of Beirut, the region's best school, with a BBA in Finance and Accounting (GPA: 3.5). I have limited volunteering experience with local NGOs and with Syrian refugees. I also passed the CPA exams recently.

Since I still have more than a year to apply, I need to know what is best to do in order to make my application more appealing, given that the MPA/ID program is the most competitive in HKS. Please help me in answering the following questions:

1- What are the best activities/volunteering to do to strengthen my CV?

2- What are the best websites/journals to read to follow policy issues? (this a question in the HKS application. Note: I read the Foreign Affairs and The Economist)

3- I did not take Calculus courses in college. Is it advisable to take them online through the Harvard Extension School (cost per course: $1,350)?

4- Is it true that Harvard won't admit students from developing countries without having a recommendation from senior government officials (prime ministry, royal court, etc) or experience in the government?

Thank you for your help!

Hi, Jordan1st. Properly, your post really belongs in the Am I Competitive thread. Check that out to see other people's backgrounds and what kind of preparation they have made for applying to graduate school. I'll do my best to answer a few of your questions.