HELP!

I'm just now starting my graduate school search. I live in Columbus, Ohio and I would like to stay in state. I have decided that I am either interested in pursuing a Psy.D or a MSW. Any recommendations? I know that I want to work one on one with clients. I am afraid that a MSW wouldn't give me the independence that I want, nor the money in mid-career salary that I need to support my family. Is there a major difference in careers or salary for people with a MSW or Psy.D? I am having a hard time finding real information from real people with real experiences, so I decided to give this site a shot!!! Thanks!

I am currently studying psychology at Otterbein University and I plan to begin graduate school in the fall of 2017.

Edited by Shelby.Pacheco96

I recommend reaching out to alumni associations where you are looking to apply for either program for feedback should this website not provide you the information you are looking for. I am a current first year MSW student in California so I have a bias. MSW allows you to do whatever you want to do. I think you should decide on the importance of clinical one on one service. As for salary, it depends on your location, target population, sector (private-public), and of course experience. These are just some things I thought of but there is more to this discussion.

• 1 month later...

I am biased too as I am a current MSW student. But I did consider the whole psychology vs. social work thing too. If anything it's the Psy.D. that won't give you independence. MSW you can do a variety of work in a variety of fields. Psy.D. is kind of stuck within mental health or therapy fields. It just depends on what you want to do with your degree.