Evaluation of Fall Transcripts

magnetite

Hi all,

In applying to graduate schools, do most people send in transcripts for the fall semester of their senior year? The programs I'm looking into have application deadlines on both December 15th and January 15th. If my fall transcripts aren't ready when I finish my applications, is it expected for me to send those transcripts?

Thanks!

If your fall transcripts are available by the application deadline, then send them. Otherwise, do not! If a school wants fall transcripts they will usually followup in January for them and/or ask you to update with fall transcripts when available.

Thanks for the quick replies. In that case, I have another question (or two or three):

I'm majoring in physics and about a year ago I changed to the B.A. degree plan. The only difference between it and the B.S. plan at my school is the B.A. doesn't require two quantum mechanics courses and two modern physics courses. I gain the ability to replace those classes with other upper level science electives. So, I'll be taking organic chemistry, biochemistry, a geology class, and perhaps microbiology (I'm applying to astrobiology programs). Unfortunately, none of those classes will be on my transcripts yet.

Also, upper level E&M and classical mechanics won't be on the transcripts yet, as I'm taking one this semester and the next in the fall. When evaluating my transcripts, could it be held against me that I haven't taken those yet? Should I mention all of this in my statements of purpose in my applications?

Your sidebar says your program is Oceanography. I don't think upper level E&M and classical mechanics classes will really matter to Oceanography graduate programs.