How many publications an international student with a master degree must have to get accepted into US top PhD engineering programs?

omid13

What kind of engineering are you planning to get into? What field of expertise? And by 'top,' do you mean those consistently ranked at the top of the US rankings?

All it takes is one high-quality publication in the relevant field to make a difference, international or not. You're asking a very vague question here. 

I am a mechanical engineer. I mainly study power generation, concentrated solar power, power plant hybridization, solar power generation and solar air conditioning. 

Last year, I applied for 17 different programs in US and Canada from the very best programs to mediocre ones. I was hoping to get admitted to couple of them; but, I did not get into even one university. For last year, I had 2 journal papers (no impact factor) and 3 submitted journal papers (High impact factor from 3 to 5). My master GPA was 4/4 and my bachelor GPA was 3.7/4. One problem with my application is my university. It is a 15 year old university in middle east and I guess most professors do not know anything about it. I also did not contact any potential advisor. 

This year, I have 5 journal papers (3 high impact factor: 2.7, 4.9, 5.6), 2 conference papers, 8 submitted journal papers ( all high impact factor journals) and 1 patent application.

I wonder how many publication is enough for getting accepted into top schools (MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Georgia tech,...).

My guess, honestly, is that it's less about publications and more about the other stuff (GRE, TOEFL, if required), your person statements and your school/letters. Many candidates get into programs without any primary authored papers (or just a couple), so I'm guessing that you have more than enough for most programs.