Explaination of drop in GPA necessary/appropriate in SOP?

Is it necessary and/or appropriate to explain a drop in GPA on your applications?

I'm applying to M.S. programs for Fall 2016 in Geology/Geochemistry. For the first four semesters of undergrad, my GPA fluctuated between a 3.9 and 3.6 average. Then, unfortunately (and sadly not an uncommon occurrence) I was sexually assaulted. This occurred during a summer session, when my GPA dropped dramatically to a 2.9, and for the remainder of my time my per semester GPA was in the 3.0 - 3.2 range. I graduated with a 3.4 overall GPA, and about a 3.2 for my upper junior/senior level courses.

My question is, do I offer an explanation on my application, and if so, in how much detail? I want to avoid making empty excuses, but I was extremely distracted during that time and it's reflected in my GPA. Would it be best to provide a vague "personal situation/problem" explanation? Where in the application would this take place?

Thank you in advance for any insight or advice!

I'm sorry to hear this happened to you! 

If you are still able to access on-campus resources, would your school be able to offer any advice?

Here are my thoughts, but this is coming from someone without the same experience as you. I hope it helps you decide what is best for you!

I think something should be mentioned because your junior/senior GPA is a lot different than your GPA in the first two years. I think that if you don't mention anything at all, your GPA shows a downward trend, which is not a good thing. I think this would have a place in your SOP. However, I still don't think that you "must" mention it. Your overall GPA is still a decent GPA and if you prefer to not discuss this, I don't think you have to! But assuming that you do want to discuss it: