Applying for masters-level jobs while in PhD program

Criminologist

I am in my 3rd semester of my PhD program (last semester of coursework) and I am currently applying for masters-level research positions in my field. Already applied to one this summer I thought was a great fit and never heard back. Am I less likely to hear back from companies since I am in a PhD program and they will see this on my resume? I am also working as a grad assistant. My intent is to get a job next semester and then do the PhD program part-time or leave the program.

Edited by zhanggar

Perhaps. It depends on the employer and their own perceptions.

Some employers may not care if you do a PhD part-time, as long as it doesn't interfere with your work. Some might even see it as a bonus. But others will believe (realize?) that even a part-time PhD is a lot of work and might be too demanding to balance with full-time work at their position. Others might not even bother if they have other qualified candidates who are not in PhD programs.

You can take the PhD program off your resume if you don't want that to be a red flag immediately - you don't have to have it on there. That's not saying that you should lie if it comes up, but a resume is essentially a marketing document for you, so you only have to put relevant information that will help you find positions you want, not everything you've ever done. If you do leave it on, it might be something you could address in a cover letter if you are deft about it.