NSF dishonesty dilemma?

betweenarock

Hi all,

I have a bit of a situation that's making me feel uneasy.  I'm a 2nd year PhD student who has joined lab A within the last 2-3 months.  I'm also working on an NSF proposal, as well as some other fellowship proposals.  Unfortunately, I find myself really drawn to the research being done in another (topically, rather different) lab B in the department.  At this point, I'm rather determined to leave lab A and join lab B possibly within the next 3-6 months.  My current adviser in lab A has some inkling that I may be interested in switching groups, but does not know definitely yet of my plans.

However, in all of my fellowship applications, I'm writing as if I were highly committed to the work I'm currently doing in lab A, and committed to becoming a leader in this field, as one must do in order to sell the fellowship application.  In reality, I have no intention of remaining in this field or lab.  To me, frankly, this is dishonest, and especially an affront to my adviser in lab A who is writing a LOR for me.

At the same time, everything I'm doing is technically permissible by the rules of the fellowships (as the 2 labs are in the same department).  I could pass it all off under the guise of having a change in research interests after the writing of the fellowships.

Any advice?

Edited by betweenarock

I don't think you have a problem here at all. The NSF is a fellowship awarded to you as a person, not for a specific research project, even though you have to write essays about a specific research project. However, you will encounter later fellowship applications that are for a specific research project and you will see that they are very different.