Viability of candidacy

flas765

Trying to see what kind of net I can cast. I am a 2014 graduate. My dream school would probably be Columbia/UCSF/Berkeley, but I know those are dream schools for a reason haha. I'm shooting for Analytical Chemistry PhD programs for Fall 2016 enrollment, and I was curious because my GRE scores have just come out. I wanted to have a general idea of what schools to make sure I'm not throwing money around. Any suggestions for improvement, course of action, schools, etc., would be greatly appreciated. It feels overwhelming at times, but glancing at other posts here kind of settle me down as everyone goes through the same thing. Probably my GPA will limit my chances at top tier schools. 

Also, would I have to take the (strongly recommended) Chem GRE to enhance my applicant profile?

Undergraduate: Liberal Arts College in California Biochemistry, Poli Sci Dual Degree

GPA: 3.25 (Major 3.1)

GRE: 161V/163Q/5.0 AWA (gonna retake this because I feel like my anxiety that day really dropped my score)

Research: 2 years in P.Chem lab

Presentation/Pubs: 1 regional conference, accepted to 1 national conference, 1 paper published

Rec Letters: Feel really good about these 3 letters. All three are people I've had the pleasure of longstanding and excellent relationships.

TA Experience: 1 year and 2 semester (Organic Chem, Gen Chem)

Really appreciate anyone taking the time to read over or send suggestions. If anyone has similar profiles, maybe we could talk about what schools you'd be shooting for. Thanks guys.

C.

• 3 weeks later...

I have a similar profile, except that my Rec letters and research are weaker than yours, but I have a stronger GPA.  I also have Berkeley as a dream school!