Quit two grad programs, how to convince another one to admit me?

txelizabeth

So I graduated from undergrad with a BA in Linguistics and a minor in Psych in August 2008, did a couple years of grad work in Communication Disorders-Speech Language Pathology, before leaving to switch to grad program in Linguistics. I left the SLP program, because of my own speech issues that I was unaware of until I was in the program, a lack of support, and anxiety issues. Rather than really thinking things through, I then applied to linguistics programs, got in with a full fellowship somewhere and went. I ended up experiencing major anxiety and was very unhappy. I left after one year, in spring 2013 to do work with AmeriCorps. I did a 10 week AmeriCorps Vista program, followed by an 11 month AmeriCorps program. Now, I've been working at non-profits and have considered pursuing a master's in social work, but wonder how I can prove to them I want to do this.

My stats aren't an issue. I did my BA in only 3 years and got good grades in my grad classes, with my GPA above a 3.7 for each school. I recently retook the GRE, since my old score expired and got a 165V, 155Q, 4.0AW. I know I can get great recs from my current and recent bosses, as well as a professor from my first grad school, who I've kept in touch with. I have a history of volunteer work with children and know I want to pursue mental health/nonprofit work. Also, my anxiety has been totally under control for over 2 years now, so I'm not concerned about that. My long-term AmeriCorps program, had me working with a caseload of 20 middle school students, providing one-on-one weekly mentoring and gave me experience facilitating groups; I absolutely loved the work and felt I was making a difference. It's been my favorite job ever. For the first two grad programs I tried, I honestly kinda jumped into them because I thought "hey, I can do that" and my grades demonstrate that i could if I really wanted- but I was unhappy.