A useful paper about biomedical sciences careers

notsaxophones

Hi everyone,

I am a first year graduate student in a Molecular and Cellular biology program, and recently went to a talk by an author on the paper I have linked below. This paper details the state of biomedical sciences research in the US and discusses, and really made me think about trying to use my time as a graduate student to figure out what careers other than academia are feasible, and how I might eventually accomplish one of those careers. Many of us in my first year program agreed that this is good information to know, so I figured I would share it here.

I'm not trying to scare anyone - but I feel like even though I had a fuzzy idea of what was going on with bio/biomedical careers when I applied to grad school, that this has helped me really get a grasp on the reality of the situation. The speaker just happened to bring up a good point that when you are considering grad programs, that we should see what their strengths are other than just producing students to go on to do postdocs and academia. 

http://www.pnas.org/content/111/16/5773.full.pdf

Good luck on all of your applications!

Notsaxophones

Thanks for sharing.

I thoroughly enjoyed the paper and found some of the suggestions rather refreshing; paying post-docs scientist-level compensation to balance the system is a nice idea that has been tossed about for a little while now. Hopefully by the time I'm finished with my doctorate there will be some bigger strides towards these types of solutions.

It's really a pity that what I love happens to be a biomedical science. Oh well, I guess I prefer the devil I know.

... paying post-docs scientist-level compensation to balance the system is a nice idea that has been tossed about for a little while now. 

Wouldn't this increase the supply?