Study Abroad GPA?

MonteCristo

If I posted this in the wrong section, I apologize.  Didn't see GPA listed anywhere.

In 2009, I studied abroad in Japan for a semester.  At the college I studied at, I got a GPA of 2.77 on their S (90-100), A (89-80), B (79-70), F scale.  My home university's GPA was 3.58 (my grades from Japan did not have a bearing on my GPA; instead they were translated to my home university as Passes) 

I had completely forgotten about this until I ordered transcripts for the college I studied at in Japan.  The thing is, despite S's being in the typical percentile range of an American A or high B, getting a 90-100 was very unlikely.  You get two exams per semester, written, and that's your grade.  If there was any foreign exchange student who got above a 3.2, I didn't meet them.  Essentially, I worked just as hard for that 2.77 (or harder even) as I did for my 3.58.    

What I worry about is universities looking at my foreign exchange transcript and thinking, "What was he doing that semester abroad?"  I've tried doing research into translating my GPA to an American one (despite being both 4.0 scales) and have either gotten 3.66 based on the only available Japan->American calculator online, or a 2.97 based on me directly translating switching the grades to a A+/-~F scale.  I've considered noting this on my CV somehow, but not all my colleges require a CV in the first place.  One college suggested writing in in my statement of purpose, but that's both taking up valuable space and potentially pointing out something that I'm uncertain may even be noticed.