Changes of getting into these schools?

MariePham

Hi everyone

I'm an international student and I go to a high ranked state school and I'm applying to biology PhD programs at the end of this year (i'm a junior)

I really need honest opinion about my chances so I don't waste money applying to places I'm not a good fit for!

Major: BS Biology, BA PolSci, minors in international relations and chem. 

cGPA: 3.51 sGPA: 3.31 (upward trend, all As in upper level bio classes, couple Cs in chemistry first year)

Research: 2.5 years including summers on a fellowship. 1 first author peer-reviewed pub, 2 co-authors. 

Extracurriculars: tons of research stuff, TAing, mentoring, advising, clubs, jobs etc

LOR: My PI is kind of a big deal so I'm counting on that one. Other letter will be from my neurobio and neurolab prof (got As in both) and third one from the director of undergraduate research on campus

GRE: Have not taken yet but I'm scoring 160-162 on Verbal and 165+ on math on practice tests. Also planning on taking subject in Biochem.

Classes taken: Orgo chem, 2 semesters of physics, 2 semesters of calc, biostats, neurobio, neuro lab, cell bio, cell lab, developmental bio, genomics, biological basis of disease, ecology, evolution, genetics + tons of research seminars

Schools I'm applying to

Yale

Princeton 

MIT

University of Rochester

University of Wisconsin-Madison

University of Colorado-Boulder

University of Washington

UCLA

UCSD 

UCI

Rice

Thoughts? 

Hi everyone

I'm an international student and I go to a high ranked state school and I'm applying to biology PhD programs at the end of this year (i'm a junior)

I really need honest opinion about my chances so I don't waste money applying to places I'm not a good fit for!

Major: BS Biology, BA PolSci, minors in international relations and chem. 

cGPA: 3.51 sGPA: 3.31 (upward trend, all As in upper level bio classes, couple Cs in chemistry first year)