Major in education?

I am a college freshman at a community college. Right now my major is education, but I'm really starting to lean towards the speech pathology field. I know this is a forum for grad schools, but I figured you all would be able to help answer my question. So the university I want to transfer to has communications disorders as a minor. Could I major in education and minor is communications disorders?? That way if I can't ever get into grad school, I could teach? Also, will knowing fluent American Sign Language improve my chances of getting into grad school? I know I shouldn't be thinking about this, I'm only a freshman, but I can't help it. Thanks

As someone who is 20 years older than you and trying to transition into this field by getting a 2nd bachelor's, my advice would be to major in communication disorders. Don't minor, major and pursue it with extra-curriculars, research work, etc. if it is really your goal. It's a competitive world out there. 

I took ASL because one of the schools that I'm applying to has it as a required pre-req, but none of the SLPs that I've talked to use it more than baby sign level which you could easily pick up from watching Signing Time on Netflix. 

Edited by slporbust2016

Also, it is never too early to be thinking out what your plan is. The sooner you start planning, the more options you can consider, the more time you have to prepare.