Win Outside Funding, school takes away fellowship

Vorenus

Hi everyone, I'm wondering if this has happened to anyone else at another school.

I'm a humanities PhD student at a large urban private university. The stipends aren't stellar considering the area's cost of living (15,000 per year). 

I applied for and won a huge outside fellowship of 15K. So, in my mind, I was about to become a rich grad student: outside fellowship + my current school provided fellowship = a cool 30K. However, I didn't realize that the school had its own bylaws that forbade me from stacking my school fellowship with outside funding. They are instead going to keep me at 15K, funded by the outside fellowship, and give my other 15K back to the department. 

Do other schools operate like this? I realize that money is short in humanities departments, but my acceptance letter years ago said I was guaranteed the school-provided fellowship for 5 years. It seems this rule disincentivizes applying for prestigious funding sources from outside the institution. 

Other anecdotes are welcome! Thank you.